Reality Winding

The calendar has changed and a new year is here, bringing with it a feeling of new possibilities.  I used to think that post-college, all of my next steps would be clear.  I would have a job, a family, a home: a life that was predictable and understandable.  I have no idea where I got that idea.  I didn’t grow up in a predictable family and I’ve (almost) always loved the excitement that change brings.  As it turns out, my childhood was just preparation for a life of surprise seasons and unforeseen switchbacks.  I didn’t expect to leave college for Mexico, but that was where I went and the emotional growth I experienced there was critical for becoming a more whole person.  I knew nothing of law school, but stepped into the Wolf Law Building in faith and was intellectually challenged as well as satisfied.  And the surprising twists and turns that came after that were many.  Random classmate calls to offer perfect job that leads to dream job of being a GAL.  Living in Boulder ends up being the right place to remain even though it feels too small to share with my history.  And then Pine comes back from Peru, we fall in love, and get married less than a year later.

Fortunately, there has been a tremendous amount of joy in the last decade.  There have also been terrible times filled with fear and sadness.  But with each season, God’s plan unfolded and I kept on walking.  Some have said I’ve earned all the good things in my life, but I know that is untrue.  I have been blessed and with open arms, welcome that Love.

And so I find myself here, sitting in our beautiful kitchen watching the snow fall in Louisville.  How did we end up here?  Where will we go next?  I can’t wait to see where the road takes us.  

Leave a Reply

